New Mexico Academy for the Media Arts


P 505.243.1957
F 505.268.1651

MACCS to Share $15M as Part of State’s ESSA Plan

April 25, 2018 11:14 pm/Published by Jonathan Dooley

Governor Martinez announces historically struggling schools to receive an additional $15M as part of the State’s Plan under the Every Student Succeeds Act

SANTA FE, NM – Today, Governor Susana Martinez announced an additional $15 million support package will be distributed to some of the state’s most struggling schools over the next three years. This effort builds on Governor Martinez’s commitment to improving outcomes for all students and the work underway as part of New Mexico’s No. 1 ranked plan under the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

“Our kids in struggling schools deserve better and we are committed to improving accountability and support systems to help turn them around,” said Governor Martinez. “Every child can learn and every student deserves the opportunity to develop their skills and be successful.”

Under New Mexico’s top-rated State Plan, 86 of the state’s lowest-performing schools were identified as Comprehensive Support and Improvement (CSI) schools – meaning these schools are either at the bottom five percent of performance amongst Title I schools or are high schools with a graduation rate of 67 percent or lower in two of the last three years.

“Having traveled to nearly every district in our state, I see the unlimited potential in every student and in all of our schools—the schools awarded today must utilize these additional funds to replicate what is working across much of New Mexico,” said Education Secretary Christopher Ruszkowski. “These awards are part of a comprehensive statewide school-turnaround plan under ESSA, including $4 million for the High School Redesign Network, continued funding for proven programs like Principals Pursuing Excellence and Teachers Pursuing Excellence, and millions more set aside for school plans in the More Rigorous Interventions (MRI) category, if approved.”

Of the 86 CSI-identified schools that were eligible for this portion of grant funding, 60 chose to apply and locally develop school turnaround plans, and 46 have been identified for conditional approval. Districts and schools are now required to meet with the New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) to finalize budgets to ensure alignment to the chosen evidence-based interventions that are to be implemented over the next three years to increase student achievement. Schools that do not exit CSI status during this time period will be identified for More Rigorous Interventions.

NMPED provided districts and charter schools with the opportunity to apply for grant funding to support these efforts as part of multiple pathway efforts including the High School Redesign Network, Principals Pursuing Excellence, and other options for historically struggling schools. For the 14 schools that applied but did not earn grant funding through this process, they join 26 other CSI schools who selected NM DASH-Plus at their school improvement pathway. NM DASH-Plus includes onsite monitoring every 30 days, regular conference calls, technical assistance, and continuous oversight.

The following 46 schools will receive $5,206,969.12 per year for the next three years:

Alamogordo Public Schools:  Academy Del Sol

Albuquerque Public Schools:  Albuquerque Talent Development Secondary Charter, Del Norte High, Freedom High School, Gordon Bernell Charter. Hayes Middle, Highland High, Janet Kahn (Eubank Elementary), La Luz Elementary, Los Puentes Charter, Manzano High School, Maryann Binford Elementary, McKinley Middle, Navajo Elementary, New Futures, Rio Grande High, Robert F Kennedy Charter, School On Wheels, Van Buren Middle, Washington Middle, West Mesa High, Wilson Middle

Aztec Municipal Schools:  Vista Nueva High

Bernalillo Public Schools:  Bernalillo High

Bloomfield Schools:  Mesa Alta Junior

Central Consolidated Schools:  Career Preparatory Alternative, Newcomb Middle

Cuba Independent Schools:  Cuba High School

Espanola Public Schools:  Carlos Vigil

Farmington Municipal Schools:  Rocinante High

Gallup McKinley County Schools:  Gallup Central High School, Miyamura High

House Municipal Schools:  House High

Pecos Independent Schools:  Pecos High

Pojoaque Valley Public Schools:  Pojoaque 6th Grade Academy

Rio Rancho Public Schools:  Independence High School

Santa Fe Public Schools:  Academy at Larragoite, Early College Opportunities

Socorro Consolidated Schools:  Raymond Sarracino Middle

State Charters:  Health Leadership High School, Las Montanas Charter High School, Media Arts Collaborative Charter School, Six Directions Indigenous School, ACE Leadership Charter High School

Zuni Public Schools:  Shiwi Tsana Elementary, Zuni High School

Let's Connect