Media Arts Collaborative Charter School
P 505.243.1957F 505.268.1651

Great Achievements!

Oct 14, 2013

MACCSimum Terror

MACCSIMUM Terror receives highest honors at 2016 48-Hour Horror Film Fest

From left to right:  Aiden Lopez, Teddy Becker, Hannah Sommer, Jess Liesveld, John Horn, Caleb Schuh

Collin Buksas State Fair Photo Competition

MACCS student, Collin Buksas, wins 2nd Place in State Fair photo competition.

MACCS High School Art Instructor, Isaac AlaridPease, has received a 2016 Golden Educators Residency!  The residency is a partnership between the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers and Golden Artist Colors, who have partnered for a second year to offer an unprecedented opportunity for Art Educators with a student who received recognition in the 2016 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.  Congratulations Mr. AlaridPease!

CONGRATULATIONS to ALL of the 2016 Scholastic Art Awardees:         Gold Coin Winner:  Catherine Palmer’s Mixed Media, “Mariposa”         Silver Coin Winners: Esther Burton’s Illustraion, “House”;  Antoine Jaramillo’s Photo, “Dark Matters”;  Jahro Parrish’s Digital Art, “Sand Storm” and “Reflections”.    MACCS also had TEN Honorable Mention Awards going to:  Ben Armand, Natalie Rauth, Rowan Roberts, Nathan Spon, Jahro Parrish, Catherine Palmer, Antoine Jaramillo!!!

The Rocky Mountain SW Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has awarded Jacob Uffer, Antoine Jaramillo, and Patrick Cooper the Award for Excellence for their 2015 production “SDRAWKCAB”.  

2015 Future Voices of New Mexico contest winners:  Sadge Tillema, Saly Entislia, Mariah Allen, and Clara Franke.  Congratulations MACCS Photography students !!

The Media Arts Collaborative Charter School was reauthorized for five more years by the PEC on December 14, 2012. MACCS will continue growing a new middle school and by 2014-2015 will be grades 6-12. The current 6th & 7th grades have brought pride and mentorship to our upper class men. Students in grades 11 and 12 serve as Teaching Assistants to the 6th grade teacher, Ms. Christine Penfold, and provide a model of  student leadership for the new secondary students.

The graduates of 2012 placed MACCS within the top 1% of all high schools statewide for students not needing remedial college classes!!

Media Arts Collaborative Charter School student Kryssen Robinson has been selected as the January 2014 winner of the Future Voices of New Mexico monthly film contest for his short music video animation “Vitamin O.”   Robinson will receive a small monetary prize for his work, and his music video will be screened by the Lensic Theater in Santa Fe.

“I made the animation during my summer vacation for a song on my school’s anti-drug CD, Haley We Miss You,” Robinson said. “It was a lot of hard work, but I want to become a great animator like my idol, Danny Antonucci.  My dream is to create a cartoon series for the Cartoon Network.”

CONGRATULATIONS to 2013 National Artist Teacher Fellow Grant recipient, Blake Minnerly!  Mr. Minnerly is now the 2nd MACCS Media Instructor to be awarded this prestigious recognition.

Congratulations to the following Science Fair Winners !!               Patrick Cooper, Tyler Boudreaux, Saly Entislia, Nathan Spon, Elliot Porter, Lauriel Queen, Alex Holloway-Herndon, Annie Weeding,   Nicholas Peterson, Anh Thu Meis, Alexis Monroy.

Photo of winners